Golf

Simpson flagged after unintentional ball motion

Webb Simpson, defending champion at The Gamers Championship, was assessed a one-shot penalty at No. 14 for inadvertently inflicting his ball to maneuver. Simpson was making an attempt to determine the place to face earlier than placing from the perimeter when his putter deal with obtained caught in his shirt and brought about the opposite finish to the touch his ball. It barely moved, however was sufficient to attract a penalty.

Had the incident occurred on the inexperienced, no penalty would have been assessed underneath a brand new PGA Tour rule that permits for inadvertent contact on the placing floor.

“I believed it is likely to be a penalty, however we known as in any case,” Simpson stated. “And if it is on the inexperienced, it is not a penalty. So that is the place I’ll be loud and clear, like we’ve got to get intent into the foundations. We now have to as a result of it is killing our sport in terms of these form of issues.”

Simpson spent a number of minutes questioning the penalty.

“What they attempt to say is both it is exhausting to write down the rule with intent otherwise you open it up for grey space,” he stated. “Effectively, I feel it is really the other as a result of I am enjoying with Lucas [Bjerregaard], we’re up there, why would I attempt to transfer the ball? Like, there isn’t any benefit. And there is cameras all over the place, too. I do not know if that obtained on there, however my putter hit my garments, it moved it 1 / 4 inch, I’ll transfer it again.

“I am hoping that one way or the other or one other intent can get broadened, I suppose.”

The Related Press contributed to this report.

Related Articles