Shammi Silva elected president of Sri Lanka Cricket

Shammi Silva has been elected president of Sri Lanka Cricket. Drawing in 83 out of a attainable 142 votes Silva, a candidate backed by former president Thilanga Sumathipala, beat Jayantha Dharmadasa, who obtained 56 votes.

Regardless of the various delays and swings in fortune over the course of the final a number of months, when elections have been postponed indefinitely and SLC was run by a sports activities ministry-appointed Competent Authority, the ultimate tally of votes means basically the identical faces return to energy.

Alongside Silva, different members of the earlier government committee in Mohan de Silva and Ravin Wickremaratne have been voted in once more, this time as secretary and vice-president respectively. Okay Mathivanan additionally returns as vice chairman, the one member of the Dharmadasa faction to be elected.

The outcomes are translate to one more sad election end result for the brothers Ranatunga. Former World Cup successful captain Arjuna misplaced out narrowly within the race for vice-president, racking up 72 votes to Wickremaratne’s 82 and Mathivanan’s 80, whereas the youthful Ranatunga, Nishantha, working for the publish of secretary, picked up simply 43 votes to de Silva’s 96.

The top result’s a mere shuffling of the identical folks, with Sumathipala and Dharmadasa the one main gamers lacking out from the workplace bearers voted in throughout SLC’s final elections in 2016.

Within the race for different positions, Lasantha Wickremasinghe (100 votes) beat Eastman Narangoda (37) to the publish of treasurer, whereas Lalith Rambukwella (92) was voted in forward of Sanjaya Senarath (42) for assistant treasurer. Chrishantha Kapuwatha (94) was voted in assistant secretary forward of Hirantha Perera (44).

Source link

Related Articles