See who will qualify for the biennial occasion

The 2019 Presidents Cup is inching nearer and nearer, and the Presidents Cup standings are beginning to take significant form. Under you’ll find full Presidents Cup standings for the U.S. and Worldwide groups, along with every part else that you must know in regards to the occasion.

Present Presidents Cup Standings: U.S. staff

Listed here are the present High 10 within the U.S. Presidents Cup standings (as of March 25, 2019):

1. JUSTIN THOMAS – 5,170 factors
2. DUSTIN JOHNSON – 5,127 factors
three. XANDER SCHAUFFELE – four,536 factors
four. BRYSON DECHAMBEAU – four,384 factors
5. BROOKS KOEPKA – four,157 factors
6. RICKIE FOWLER – three,678 factors
7. MATT KUCHAR – three,429 factors
eight. TONY FINAU – three,420 factors
9. PHIL MICKELSON – three,386 factors
10. GARY WOODLAND – three,359 factors

Tiger Woods is at present on the skin trying in. Woods is 18th on the record with 2,236 factors. You may see the total record of U.S. Presidents Cup standings right here.

Present Presidents Cup Standings: Worldwide staff

Listed here are the present High 10 within the Worldwide Presidents Cup standings (as of March 17, 2019):

1. MARC LEISHMAN – 124.87 factors
2. LOUIS OOSTHUIZEN – 111.11 factors
three. HIDEKI MATSUYAMA – 103.56 factors
four. CAMERON SMITH – 103.33 factors
5. HAOTONG LI – 92.98 factors
6. ABRAHAM ANCER – 83.92 factors
7. JUSTIN HARDING – 79.14 factors
eight. JASON DAY – 75.40 factors
9. ADAM SCOTT – 70.37 factors

You may see the total record of Worldwide Presidents Cup standings right here.

How Presidents Cup Standings Work

The Presidents Cup standings are totally different for every staff.

The U.S. employs a system tied intently to FedEx Cup factors. The eight American gamers who earn essentially the most FedEx Cup factors from the 2017 BMW Championship via the 2019 Presidents Cup will routinely qualify for the staff.

However not all FedEx Cup factors are judged equally. As a substitute, the U.S. staff imposes a weighting system on the factors. Every FedEx Cup level earned from the 2017 BMW via the 2018 Tour Championship equals one level within the Presidents Cup standings. Every level earned throughout the 2018-19 season ending on the 2019 Tour Championship equals two Presidents Cup Standings factors.

Lastly, the final 4 spots on the staff might be chosen by the U.S. captain and vice captains.

The Worldwide staff as an alternative determines their gamers’ standings with the Official World Golf Rating. The eight Worldwide gamers with essentially the most Official World Golf Rating factors earned from the 2018 Dell Applied sciences Championship to the 2019 Tour Championship routinely qualify for the staff.

As is the case with the U.S. staff, the ultimate 4 spots on the Worldwide aspect might be chosen by the captain and vice captains.

The place is the Presidents Cup this yr?

The 2019 Presidents Cup might be held in Australia at Royal Melbourne Golf Membership. Royal Melbourne hosted the 2011 Presidents Cup and the 1998 Presidents Cup. 1998 marked the one time the Worldwide staff received the biennial occasion.

When is the Presidents Cup?

This yr’s Presidents Cup might be held December 12-15, which is early in Australia’s summer season season.

Who’re the 2019 Presidents Cup captains?

For the 2019 Presidents Cup, the U.S. staff might be led by first-time captain Tiger Woods. He might be opposed on the Worldwide aspect by one other first-time captain, Ernie Els. Woods has chosen Steve Stricker, Fred Couples and Zach Johnson as his vice captains. Els tapped Mike Weir, Trevor Immelman, Geoff Ogilvy and Ok.J Choi to be vice captains on the Worldwide staff.

Presidents Cup Historical past

The presidents Cup started in 1994 as an exhibition staff occasion between an American staff made up of U.S. residents and an Worldwide staff made up of golfers from exterior the U.S. and Europe. It’s held biennially, alternating years with the Ryder Cup competitions.

The Presidents Cup was held on even-numbered years, however the September 11th assaults compelled the postponement of the 2001 Ryder Cup by a yr. The Presidents Cup adopted swimsuit and moved the 2002 occasion to 2003.

The primary two Presidents Cups, in 1994 and 1996, have been held at Robert Trent Jones Golf Membership in Virginia, after which the occasion alternated between U.S. and Worldwide programs.

The U.S. staff has lengthy dominated the occasion, in contrast to their latest efficiency on the Ryder Cup. The Individuals maintain an unimaginable document of 11-1-1. The Worldwide staff picked up their solely win on the 1998 occasion at Royal Melbourne, the location of the 2019 Presidents Cup.

The 2003 Presidents Cup in South Africa famously resulted in a tie. These groups have been led by all-time legends Jack Nicklaus and Gary Participant. After ending the occasion tied 17-17, Tiger Woods and Ernie Els confronted off in a playoff to find out the winner. The 2 stars have been nonetheless deadlocked after three holes, so, with the solar setting on the South African course, Nicklaus and Participant huddled collectively and determined to share the trophy between the 2 groups, thus ending the competitors. Woods and Els will proceed their rivalry as opposing captains on the 2019 Presidents Cup.

Presidents Cup Format

The Presidents Cup format differs barely from that of the Ryder Cup.

There might be a complete of 30 matches price 30 factors on the 2019 Presidents Cup. The matches might be contested over 4 full days. Day 1 of the competitors on Thursday options 5 foursomes matches, with two golfers per staff in every match. These are adopted by 5 four-ball matches on Friday. Saturday will characteristic two periods with a complete of eight matches: 4 foursome matches within the morning and 4 four-ball matches within the afternoon. Lastly, the ultimate spherical on Sunday consists of 12 singles matches.


Thursday – 5 Foursomes matches
Friday – 5 4-ball matches
Saturday morning – four Foursomes matches
Saturday afternoon – four 4-ball matches
Sunday – 12 Singles matches

Previous Outcomes

2017: U.S. wins 19–11; Liberty Nationwide Golf Membership, Jersey Metropolis, N.J., United States
2015: U.S. wins 15.5–14.5; Jack Nicklaus Golf Membership Korea, Incheon, South Korea
2013: U.S. wins 18.5–15.5; Muirfield Village, Dublin, Ohio, United States
2011: U.S. wins 19–15; Royal Melbourne Golf Membership; Melbourne, Australia
2009: U.S. wins 19.5–14.5; Harding Park Golf Membership; San Francisco, Calif.
2007: U.S. wins 19.5–14.5; Royal Montreal Golf Membership, Montreal, Canada
2005: U.S. wins 18.5–15.5; Robert Trent Jones Golf Membership, Gainesville, Va.
2003: Groups tie 17–17; Fancourt Lodge and Nation Membership; George, Western Cape, South Africa
2000: U.S. wins 21.5–10.5; Robert Trent Jones Golf Membership; Gainesville, Va.
1998: Worldwide staff wins 20.5–11.5; Royal Melbourne Golf Membership, Melbourne, Australia
1996: U.S. wins 16.5–15.5; Robert Trent Jones Golf Membership, Gainesville, Va.
1994: U.S. wins 20–12; Robert Trent Jones Golf Membership, Gainesville, Va.

Presidents Cup Previous Captains

2017: Steve Stricker (U.S.) and Nick Value (Worldwide)
2015: Jay Haas (U.S.) and Nick Value (Worldwide)
2013: Fred Couples (U.S.) and Nick Value (Worldwide)
2011: Fred Couples (U.S.)and Greg Norman (Worldwide)
2009: Fred Couples (U.S.) and Greg Norman (Worldwide)
2007: Jack Nicklaus (U.S.) and Gary Participant (Worldwide)
2005: Jack Nicklaus (U.S.) and Gary Participant (Worldwide)
2003: Jack Nicklaus (U.S.) and Gary Participant (Worldwide)
2000: Ken Venturi (U.S.) and Peter Thomson (Worldwide)
1998: Jack Nicklaus (U.S.) and Peter Thomson (Worldwide)
1996: Arnold Palmer (U.S.) and Peter Thomson (Worldwide)
1994: Hale Irwin (U.S.) and David Graham (Worldwide)

Related Articles