Sciver, Brunt energy England to huge win


 • Final up to date on Sat, 16 Mar, 2019, 06:58 PM

Natalie Sciver top-scored with 93

Natalie Sciver top-scored with 93 © Getty

England outclassed Sri Lanka in a rain-marred encounter in Hambantota to win the primary one-dayers by 154 runs (DLS Methodology) on Saturday.

Chasing 332, Sri Lanka bought off to a horrific begin. Pacer Katherine Brunt eliminated opener Anushka Sanjeewani off the third ball of the innings and their top-order was blown away in a canter. Chamari Athapaththu, scored a hard-fought 30 however she succumbed to Kate Cross and after her dismissal, Sri Lanka have been left tottering at 46/7.

Nilakshi de Silva and Oshadi Ranasinghe staged a restoration act of kinds. Oshadi notched up her maiden ODI fifty and the duo added 88 runs for the eighth wicket. The partnership lessened the victory margin significantly and saved Sri Lanka from a humiliation. Nevertheless, ultimately, rain had the ultimate say, intervening when Sri Lanka’s innings was underway and lowering the chase to 40 overs within the second innings.

Earlier within the day, the hosts received the toss and determined to place England in. The guests took little time to stamp their authority early as Amy Ellen Jones and Tammy Beaumont set the platform with a 114-run opening partnership.

As soon as Beaumont(79), the dominant associate within the alliance, fell, it triggered a mini-collapse with England shedding the following three wickets for simply 4 runs. Skipper Heather Knight and Natalie Sciver consolidated, pacing their innings to perfection and added 113 runs for the fourth wicket.

Sciver (93 off 73) and Danielle Wyatt(47 off 26), upped the ante within the slog overs and added a staggering 90 runs in simply 46 balls, powering England to a mammoth rating of 331.

Transient scores: England 331/7 in 50 overs (Natalie Sciver 93, Heather Knight 61; Oshadi Ranasinghe 2-71) beat Sri Lanka 159/eight in 40 overs (Ranasinghe 51, de Silva 45; Katherine Brunt Three-24) by 154 runs (DLS Methodology)

© Cricbuzz


Source link

Related Articles