SA trio study destiny in draw for WGC Match Play

Cape City – Three South Africans will tee it up at this week’s World Golf Championship-Dell Applied sciences Match Play at Austin Nation Membership on Wednesday.

The world’s high 64-ranked out there golfers have been drawn into teams of 4 and can face one another over the primary three days of event play.

The winner of every of the 16 teams will advance to the elimination stage over the weekend.

SA’s high ranked golfer Louis Oosthuizen has been grouped alongside Englishman Tommy Fleetwood, American Kyle Stanley and An Byeong-hun of South Korea.

Branden Grace faces a troublesome group as he competes in opposition to world No 1 Dustin Johnson, Japanese Hideki Matsuyama and American Chez Reavie.

In the meantime, red-hot Justin Harding will face four-time Main champion Rory McIlroy, England’s Matthew Fitzpatrick and American Luke Checklist.

Harding, ranked 49th, must put up a stable efficiency in Texas to keep up his place inside the High 50 of the rankings forward of subsequent month’s Masters.

Spherical robin teams for PGA Tour WGC-Dell Applied sciences Match Play event beginning at Austin Nation Membership, Austin, Texas on Wednesday:

Group 1

Dustin Johnson (USA)

Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

Branden Grace (RSA)

Chez Reavie (USA)

Group 2

Justin Rose (ENG)

Gary Woodland (USA)

Eddie Pepperell (ENG)

Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

Group three

Brooks Koepka (USA)

Alex Noren (SWE)

Li Haotong (CHN)

Tom Lewis (ENG)

Group four

Rory McIlroy (NIR)

Matthew Fitzpatrick (ENG)

Justin Harding (RSA)

Luke Checklist (USA)

Group 5

Justin Thomas (USA)

Keegan Bradley (USA)

Matt Wallace (ENG)

Lucas Bjerregaard (DEN)

Group 6

Bryson DeChambeau (USA)

Marc Leishman (AUS)

Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

Russell Knox (SCO)

Group 7

Francesco Molinari (ITA)

Webb Simpson (USA)

Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

Satoshi Kodaira (JPN)

Group eight

Jon Rahm (ESP)

Matt Kuchar (USA)

J.B. Holmes (USA)

Kim Si-woo (KOR)

Group 9

Xander Schauffele (USA)

Rafa Cabrera Bello (ESP)

Tyrell Hatton (ENG)

Lee Westwood (ENG)

Group 10

Paul Casey (ENG)

Cameron Smith (AUS)

Charles Howell III (USA)

Abraham Ancer (MEX)

Group 11

Tommy Fleetwood (ENG)

Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)

Kyle Stanley (USA)

An Byeong-hun (KOR)

Group 12

Jason Day (AUS)

Phil Mickelson (USA)

Henrik Stenson (SWE)

Jim Furyk (USA)

Group 13

Tiger Woods (USA)

Patrick Cantlay (USA)

Brandt Snedeker (USA)

Aaron Sensible (USA)

Group 14

Tony Finau (USA)

Ian Poulter (ENG)

Kevin Kisner (USA)

Keith Mitchell (USA)

Group 15

Bubba Watson (USA)

Jordan Spieth (USA)

Billy Horschel (USA)

Kevin Na (USA)

Group 16

Patrick Reed (USA)

Sergio Garcia (ESP)

Shane Lowry (IRL)

Andrew Putnam (USA)

Related Articles