Lakmal recalled to Sri Lanka T20I squad


 • Final up to date on Thu, 14 Mar, 2019, 06:38 PM

Suranga Lakmal has been recalled to Sri Lanka's T20I squad

Suranga Lakmal has been recalled to Sri Lanka’s T20I squad © Getty

Suranga Lakmal has been recalled to the Sri Lanka T20I squad to tackle South Africa in a three-match sequence. Jeffrey Vandersay, Sadeera Samarawickrama and Asitha Fernando are among the many different additions whereas Dasun Shanaka misses out from the 16-member squad introduced on Thursday (March 14).

Lakmal’s inclusion comes after a prolonged absence for the bowler in limited-overs cricket. He final performed a T20I in March 2018 whereas his final ODI look got here in September in the identical 12 months. Legspinner Vandersay hasn’t performed a recreation for Sri Lanka since his ODI look towards Pakistan in October 2017.

Angelo Perera, Avishka Fernando and Priyamal Perera are additionally a part of the squad whereas Oshada Fernando has not been thought of. Fernando, who had performed nicely within the Take a look at sequence towards South Africa, will return dwelling together with Upul Tharanga and Vishwa Fernando after the completion of the ODI sequence.

Sri Lanka Cricket additionally introduced that head coach Chandika Hathrusingha will return to Colombo after the completion of the ODI sequence. He has been requested to return again to deal with Sri Lanka’s preparations for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup and in his absence, Steve Rixon will function the performing head coach throughout the T20I sequence.

Sri Lanka are at the moment trailing Four-Zero within the ODI sequence with the specter of a whitewash looming giant. They play the final ODI on March 16 in Cape City, which may also host the opening T20I on March 19. The second recreation might be performed on March 22 in Centurion whereas Johannesburg will host the ultimate match on March 24.

Sri Lanka T20I squad: Lasith Malinga (c) Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Perera, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Priyamal Perera, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshan Sandakan.

© Cricbuzz


Source link

Related Articles