Euro 2020 qualifying – all it’s worthwhile to know

Euro 2020 qualifying is getting underway. Discover out the teams, what number of groups qualify and the way the playoffs and finals map out.

What are the teams?

GROUP A: England, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Kosovo

GROUP B: Portugal, Ukraine, Serbia, Lithuania, Luxembourg

GROUP C: Netherlands, Germany, Northern Eire, Estonia, Belarus

GROUP D: Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Eire, Georgia, Gibraltar

GROUP E: Croatia, Wales, Slovakia, Hungary, Azerbaijan

GROUP F: Spain, Sweden, Norway, Romania, Faroe Islands, Malta

GROUP G: Poland, Austria, Israel, Slovenia, Macedonia, Latvia

GROUP H: France, Iceland, Turkey, Albania, Moldova, Andorra

GROUP I: Belgium, Russia, Scotland, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, San Marino

GROUP J: Italy, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, Greece, Armenia, Liechtenstein

How do nations qualify for Euro 2020?

There might be 24 nations at Euro 2020. Because the finals are being performed throughout Europe, there isn’t any host nation.

The prime two groups in every group qualify mechanically, which means there are 20 locations up for grabs from the 10 teams.

There are then 4 locations through playoffs. There might be 16 taking part groups, allotted based mostly on UEFA Nations League group positions and efficiency to people who haven’t certified instantly.

When will the qualifying group video games be performed?

The match dates are all in 2019 and as follows:

March 21-23
March 24-26
June 7-Eight
June 10-11
September 5-7
September Eight-10
October 10-12
October 13-15
November 14-16
November 17-19

What’s the format of the playoffs?

Sixteen nations will participate within the playoffs.

There might be 4 playoff routes, every with 4 nations participating.

Every route can have two semifinals and a closing. All video games are one-off matches, and never two-legged.

Within the semifinals, the best-ranked staff of these to qualify to the playoff path (as per the record within the subsequent part) might be at dwelling to face the fourth-ranked staff, and the second-ranked staff will host the third-best staff.

The house staff in every closing might be drawn in November 2019 and won’t be based mostly on rating.

So who will qualify for the Euro 2020 playoffs?

Try this helpful video UEFA has created to elucidate the playoffs.

In its purest kind, the winners of every of the 16 teams throughout the 4 UEFA Nations League ranges (A, B, C and D) will go to the playoffs. It means we are going to see a minimal of 1 staff from every of the weaker Leagues C and D at Euro 2020.

Nevertheless, no less than half of the Nations League group winners are prone to qualify for Euro 2020 mechanically, so who takes their place within the playoff route? It goes to the next-best-ranked staff at that League degree.

That is the ranked order during which nations might be granted a playoff, ought to they want it:

League A: England, Netherlands, Portugal, Switzerland, Belgium, France, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Poland, Germany, Iceland

League B: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Denmark, Sweden, Russia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Turkey, Republic of Eire, Northern Eire

League C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Finland, Bulgaria, Israel, Hungary, Romania, Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Cyprus, Estonia, Slovenia, Lithuania

League D: Georgia, Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus, Luxembourg, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Gibraltar, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Malta, San Marino

How will the playoff fixtures be created?

Bear in mind, best-ranked will face worst-ranked at dwelling within the semifinals.

Let’s take League C for instance, because the top-ranked nations in Leagues A and B are prone to qualify mechanically.

If all 4 of the group winners require a playoff, then the semifinals could be Scotland vs. Finland and Norway vs. Serbia. That is first vs. fourth and second vs. third.

If, say, Serbia certified mechanically, then the playoffs could be Scotland vs. Bulgaria and Norway vs. Finland. That is first vs. fifth and second vs. fourth.

How your staff can qualify for UEFA EURO 2020 through the UEFA Nations League:

— UEFA (@UEFA) April 1, 2014

What if there usually are not sufficient nations for a League playoff?

With 20 groups qualifying mechanically, and the 24 strongest nations in Leagues A and B, it’s extremely possible that almost all, if not all, of the 20 will come from these two leagues.

So meaning, perhaps, there is not going to be 4 groups in Leagues A and/or B that haven’t certified mechanically.

If Leagues A and/or B want further nations to create the playoff fixtures, they probably might be added from League C.

Because of this, it signifies that eight groups in League C (reasonably that 4) most likely will get a path to the finals (both mechanically or through a playoff).

When are the playoffs?

The playoffs might be performed on March 26-28 and 29-31 in 2020, lower than three months earlier than the finals start.

When is Euro 2020 and the place is it performed?

The finals might be hosted throughout Europe for this version of the European Championship, operating June 12 to July 12.

If a bunch nation from a selected group qualifies mechanically, will probably be pre-drawn into that group. So if each England and Scotland accomplish that, they may meet within the group stage of Euro 2020. If each hosts qualify mechanically, there might be a draw to resolve who performs at dwelling.

Group A: Stadio Olimpico, Rome (Italy) and Olympic Stadium, Baku (Azerbaijan)
Group B: Krestovsky Stadium, Saint Petersburg (Russia) and Parken Stadium, Copenhagen (Denmark)
Group C: Johan Cruyff Area, Amsterdam (Netherlands) and Area Naționala, Bucharest (Romania)
Group D: Wembley Stadium, London (England) and Hampden Park, Glasgow (Scotland)
Group E: San Mames, Bilbao (Spain) and Aviva Stadium, Dublin (Republic of Eire)
Group F: Allianz Area, Munich (Germany) and Ferenc Puskas Stadium, Budapest (Hungary)

Spherical of 16: Wembley Stadium, London (England), Parken Stadium, Copenhagen (Denmark), Area Naționala, Bucharest (Romania), Johan Cruyff Area, Amsterdam (Netherlands), Aviva Stadium, Dublin (Republic of Eire), San Mames, Bilbao (Spain), Ferenc Puskas Stadium, Budapest (Hungary), Hampden Park, Glasgow (Scotland)

Quarterfinals: Allianz Area, Munich (Germany), Olympic Stadium, Baku (Azerbaijan), Krestovsky Stadium, Saint Petersburg (Russia), Stadio Olimpico, Rome (Italy)
Semifinals and closing: Wembley Stadium, London (England)

Source link

Related Articles