Eire up towards Afghanistan’s familiarity


 • Final up to date on Wed, 20 Feb, 2019, 06:14 PM

Rashid Khan has often been the difference between the two sides

Rashid Khan has usually been the distinction between the 2 sides © AFP

Eire will search to pose a stiff problem to Afghanistan within the latter’s newly-adopted house of Dehradun within the foothills of the Himalayas throughout the course of the subsequent 5 weeks the place they play three T20Is, 5 ODIs and one Take a look at. That stated, they may also be nicely conscious of the challenges forward in that endeavour, particularly factoring in Afghanistan’s energy in spin and Indian tracks’ help to them.

The linchpin in that being Rashid Khan.

Rashid has been the principle distinction between Afghanistan and Eire when the 2 sides have met prior to now. Not that it’s a deduction being made, however an remark from Paul Stirling, the Irish T20I skipper. Given how usually the 2 sides have taken on one another prior to now, over-familiarity will certainly be a standout, and therefore the necessity to preserve Rashid at bay, with Eire well-aware of the affect he can have on the result of a sport.

Eire will likely be led by Stirling for the T20Is within the absence of Gary Wilson – who’s recuperating from a vision-related ailment identified in December 2018 – earlier than William Porterfield takes over for the ODIs and the Take a look at. Eire arrived in India after a dramatic last-ball win over the Netherlands within the T20 Quadrangular Collection in Oman, and will likely be excessive on confidence and momentum in consequence.

Afghanistan’s final worldwide project was the Asia Cup in September final 12 months. Nonetheless, their gamers have been plying their commerce in varied T20 leagues all over the world, giving them vital game-time, and with their greatest stars having performed within the IPL earlier than, the expertise will come in additional than useful.

When: February 21, 2019 at 18:30 IST

The place: Rajiv Gandhi Worldwide Cricket Stadium, Dehradun

What to anticipate: Showers are forecast for tomorrow, albeit in spells, however all day. It may affect the sport, perhaps even end in a washout. If not, the overcast circumstances will play a serious function within the composition of each groups.


Afghanistan: ‘Keeper-batsman Mohammad Shahzad has been ignored of the T20s, however will make his method again for the rest of the tour. All-rounder Sahrafuddin Ashraf has been named for the T20Is, whereas left-arm wrist-spinner, Zahir Khan, has been named in each the ODI and T20I squads. In the meantime, left-arm spinner Zia-Ur-Rehman was named in a spin-heavy T20I facet. However all eyes will likely be on rookie Hazratullah Zazai, a hard-hitting batsman noticed throughout Afghanistan’s home T20 league held within the UAE, who has been named for the limited-overs collection.

Eire: Eire has recent faces in 19-year-old Harry Tector, Shane Getkate and Joshua Little, the all-rounders, who additionally have been a part of the Quandrangular collection earlier in Oman, together with Lorcan Tucker, the 22-year previous wicketkeeper-batsman. That apart, their skilled T20 campaigners in George Dockrell, Kevin O Brien, Boyd Rankin amongst others, will characteristic within the XI.

Whar they stated:

“We’ve got performed them loads over the previous few years. We all know what to anticipate and hopefully we will exit with a constructive mindset. I believe Afghanistan have gone higher within the T20 stuff of late, although we all know what they bring about. They’ve superb spinners and a batting line-up that actually comes laborious towards us.” – Paul Stirling

Squads: Eire: Paul Stirling (Captain), Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, Stuart Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Simi Singh, Harry Tector, Stuart Thompson, Lorcan Tucker

Afghanistan: Asghar Afghan(C), Usman Ghani, Najeeb Tarakai, Hazratullah Zazai, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Rashid Khan, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Farid Malik, Sayed Shirzad, Zia ur Rahman Sharifi, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Zahir Khan and Sharafuddin Ashraf

© Cricbuzz

Source link

Related Articles